Skip to content

Bargains

September 16, 2011

If you want to bring down the Roman Empire, go back in time and tell Emporer Augustus:

  1. His self-worth is tied up in how well he performs.
  2. He has all the time in the world to make sure he is doing a ‘good enough’ job.

Alas I am not immune to psychological pitfalls. The non-judgementalism of erotica is behind me and the THISISNOWHERENEARTHESHORTSTORIESIHAVEREAD of Science Fiction is at hand.

Finished this today. That is to say, two hours ago, after the fourth redraft. I am pleased as punch. This is better than anything I have ever written before.

Not available on Smashwords yet. I sent this to Asimov’s (with zero hope to even get a personalized rejection). I will ‘fill the pipes’ first, that is, mail a short story to all the major magazines and send a new one after the rejection comes in eight weeks later.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. LOL. Good self-analysis and well done on finishing and sending out the story!

    • Thanks.
      Your idea about the ‘writing muscles’ is fascinating. I wonder if my imagination can really grow like a muscle.

  2. Heh. I’m trying to remember my idea. You’ll have to point it out if you want me to expand on that one, but in general, yep! :)

  3. Ohhh, that one. Right. I pulled that one from a couple of sources, but one of the things I like about your writing challenge is the high production goal, for the same reason I recommitted to my challenge: the more times you DO a thing, the faster you learn if you learn from the doing. I’ll blog the thinking behind it in a post, promise.

Leave a Reply

