Skip to content

#not finished – 52 free days left

September 24, 2011

Still struggling to get my word count up again. Ran into a deadlock today.

I thought that the general premise of the story was… well… just plain stupid. Foolish of course. Heinlein’s second rule and everything. But it slowed down my word count, because I didn’t like to write it. I will have to find a way to deal with this.

As frustrating as this is, I am not giving up. I will just write everyday run against the brick wall, take another approach. Until I get it done.

Cyberpunk and Penguins. Thank you Writing Excuses. Ironically it’s not the penguin part, but the cyberpunk element that I can’t handle. In our modern times, the idea that companies are ruthless does not seem like news anymore. Reality frequently comes up with more heinous company strategies than any writer could imagine.

Yesterday, after finishing the last story, I thought about penguins a lot. Today and tomorrow, I will think about what else qualifies as Cyberpunk, than ‘My employer screwed me over.’.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I wrote a story off of a WE prompt (you can probably tell which one it is) and it seriously kicked my a**. It took me forever to get a handle on, and the plot doesn’t quite hold together…and all I can say is, it’s a good thing I finished it before it finished me! LOL.

  2. This was “City in the Desert”, in case I was too vague.

Leave a Reply

