Skip to content

#got carried away – 48 free days left

September 29, 2011

Ja, ei verbibbsch noch einmal!

Started writing then started tinkering with this and  got carried away, creating a new world. I got about 2500 words down today and I’m barely in the third act (of five).

There will be a new story tomorrow. At the moment I am trying to optimize a process I do not understand. How do I write a story faster if I don’t really know how to write a story in the first place?

I could say, well I’m learning, let’s write them at slow speed and get faster in the long run when I have ‘figured it out’. At the moment writing speed has slowly decreased over time with brief spikes in between. At the moment I am happy when I produce 600 words an hour. I used to produce 1000…

Is this part of the learning process? Am I writing slower because I pay more attention to what I am doing, more attention to what alternatives I have?

Did I just really run out of ideas?

Is my brain adjusting to produce large quantities of creative work?

Beats the hell outta me. Not enough data for any of these conclusions. I know just about seven people who are producing or have produced 5000 words on their every work day.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. >>At the moment I am trying to optimize a process I do not understand. How do I write a story faster if I don’t really know how to write a story in the first place?

    You just write and finish: a problem solved, a decision made, etc.. What are you using as a definition of story, or story elements?

    >>I could say, well I’m learning, let’s write them at slow speed and get faster in the long run when I have ‘figured it out’. At the moment writing speed has slowly decreased over time with brief spikes in between. At the moment I am happy when I produce 600 words an hour. I used to produce 1000…

    Underclocking (writing slow) doesn’t work that well for me, fwiw.

    >>Is this part of the learning process? Am I writing slower because I pay more attention to what I am doing, more attention to what alternatives I have?

    If you’re writing slower, then the key to making your wordcount quota is, as Dean says, spend more time at the keyboard. If that means TV, reading, laundry, and Internet has to go (except to check in for accountability), that may well be what needs to go, or at least until wordcount’s done.

    Put writing first, too, not just in priority throughout the day but first thing. Unless you already do, lol.

    >>Did I just really run out of ideas?
    Nah, you just think you did. I have a bunch to spare if you need them! lol. There’re also plenty of prompts at WritingExcuses, too.

    >>Is my brain adjusting to produce large quantities of creative work?

    Probably.

    >>I know just about seven people who are producing or have produced 5000 words on their every work day.

    Ha! I only know two: you and DWS, as far as “close” people. I know *of* more: Silverberg, Block, KJA, etc. but like I said, there’s a dearth of people who are gunning for high wordage *and* high story count, and every one of them is valuable to keep the social pressure going for me. :P

    • Optimizing story writing means finding some way to speed up the process. Maybe find patterns, write formula fiction. The only real recipe I have found so far is writing about something I really enjoy.
      I am not intentionally underclocking. This is how fast I can write at the moment. Just the speed the words come out.
      I put breakfast and basic hygiene first, but yes. Unless there is some catastrophe at work.
      By running out of ideas I didn’t mean running out of basic story templates per se. For me, a short story is made up of a hundred ideas.
      And Richard Sale and Max Brand and…

Leave a Reply

