Skip to content

#I do not know the words – 48 free days left

September 30, 2011

I do not know the words to describe how much I hate writing those posts. I try to keep them short, because I don’t want to use excuses. I do not want to give myself the choice between a day’s worth of hard work or goofing off and coming up with a creative explanation in the evening. Having this choice would scare the crap out of me. (Did you see that all of my free day posts have different headlines?)

I will have to change my approach. Today I will try making a comittment. Tomorrow I will do nothing but write. No watching TV, doing laundry, shopping, reading or anything. Work won’t reach me unless there is a fire.

I will just write. Until I have five thousand words. Or nice people in white coats give me some drugs and take me on a bus ride. :-P

Success or failure will be measured in whether I stick to it, rather than whether I make my quota.

This should then answer the question whether I am just easily distracted or if there is a problem with my writing process in itself.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. >>Ja, ei verbibbsch noch einmal!

    I have no idea what this means, but Google tells me it’s Saxon and an expression of astonishment. Care to translate for us non-Germans? lol.

    >>and coming up with a creative explanation in the evening.

    I agree, better to do the work than spend 1k words explaining how one failed to make fiction words. I found it exasperating in myself as well.

    >>I will just write. Until I have five thousand words.

    Good plan. I leave you with this: “Focus on writing every day and less on the outcome…and you’ll accomplish the outcome you seek.”

    http://www.columbia.edu/cu/gsas/pages/cstudents/dean/break-writing/break-10.html

    That is, focus on writing the 5k words you want to write every day. Keep in mind that you want it to be in the shape of a story, and your brain will deliver.

    • It’s a saxon curse. Child friendly. Not really translatable. :-P
      You are like a never ending well of useful writing links. I like that. Maybe I will see if I can dig up some treasures from my bookmark collection to reciprocate.

Leave a Reply

